Three Little Pigs 3rd birthday party

Every day, Mara asks me to tell her a story. “Three Little Pigs?” I say, knowing the answer.

“Three Little Pigs.”

At Mara’s request, the pigs are girls. Their names are Flopsy, Mopsy and Toesy. Sometimes Flopsy is the smart one who builds her house of brick; sometimes it’s Mopsy. But usually it’s Toesy.

When Mara jumps in to tell the tale, it gets very condensed.

She races on with the story, skipping words in her excitement: “Not by hair my chinny chin. I’ll huff and I’ll blow your house away! [blows] Ahhh!”

So, for Mara’s third birthday, I couldn’t think of a better theme than the Three Little Pigs.

We celebrated with two different parties (more than a month ago now)—one at our house with my parents and a handful of friends and one in Missouri with Peter’s family.

Here are the highlights. I’ll start with my pride and joy, this cake.

mara3rdbday01

I painted wooden pegs to make the three little pigs (inspired by a photo I saw on another blog) and made a tiny bunting from construction paper.

mara3rdbday02

The cake is my favorite simple buttermilk chocolate cake recipe (also seen here). Except I multiplied it to make four layers, and added stabilized whipped cream filling.

mara3rdbday03

Despite wooden skewer reinforcement, it didn’t quite last through the party.

mara3rdbday04

So maybe next time I’d cut it down to two or three layers. But it was delicious, so no complaints! (Seriously, try that recipe next time you want chocolate cake. I love it so.)

The cake toppers made a second appearance at birthday party no. 2 (I did not make this cake).

mara3rdbday06

mara3rdbday07

My other pride and joy were these pig party hats I made from construction paper and tissue circles (and lots of Mod Podge).

mara3rdbday05

There were also a few black and gray wolf hats. Don’t ask how much time I put into them, or why, for that matter, but they were a good excuse to spend a few nights binging on “Bachelor in Paradise.”

We also brought out our traditional Mara birthday banner for both parties (here it is at party no. 1).

mara3rdbday10

And the party favors were these creepy pig snouts from Oriental Trading.

mara3rdbday09

We had water balloons—something that my kids are obsessed with, yet still don’t quite know what to do with once they get their hands on some. Praise hands for those contraptions that fill 100 balloons in 10 seconds. Worth it.

mara3rdbday19

The kids also played “Pig, Pig, Wolf” (Duck, Duck, Goose), set off stomp rockets and built some impressive structures from our giant Jenga set.

mara3rdbday11

Dinner was Portillo’s Italian beef and chopped salad. Drinks were a few growlers of beer.

Oh, and there was cotton candy! We purchased a small cotton candy machine for the occasion, and I think Mara would have bathed in the stuff if we let her.

mara3rdbday12

mara3rdbday20

mara3rdbday13

mara3rdbday14

Party no. 2 also featured cotton candy and pig party hats.

mara3rdbday16

Instead of Italian beef, we ate grilled burgers, hot dogs and pork tenderloin.

mara3rdbday15

And instead of “Pig, Pig, Wolf” we played lots of baseball.

mara3rdbday18

Despite this fake pout, Mara had a pretty spectacular double celebration for birthday number three.

mara3rdbday17

Leave a comment